Skip to main content
Apr 16, 2021

Nominations Open for 2021 Dr. David Scott Award

Headwaters Health Care Centre is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Dr. David Scott Award. Named after retired surgeon and life-long Orangeville resident Dr. David Scott, the annual award recognizes individuals or groups who have gone above and beyond to improve the overall health and wellness of the Dufferin County -Caledon community and promote links between the hospital and the community. 

Sadly, Dr. David Scott passed away in 2020 and we are proud to continue honoring his legacy.

The deadline for Dr. David Scott Award nominations is May 7, 2021. The award will be presented at Headwaters’ Annual General Meeting on June 22, 2021. Details about our virtual AGM will be shared soon.

Previous Award Recipients
Previous award recipients have been selected for advocacy in many areas, including improving accessibility, fundraising and volunteer leadership with local organizations, improving long-term care, recruiting physicians, establishing after-hours clinics and promoting violence prevention.


Last year, co-recipients were family physicians, Dr. Charlie Joyce and Dr. Michael Gagnon for going above and beyond to care for patients in the hospital and in the community.

The 2019 co-recipients were the Chief of Dufferin County Paramedic Service, Tom Reid and long-serving local physician, Dr. Gordon Willans for their outstanding contributions to the health and wellness in our local communities.   

In 2018 Dr. Cathy Candusso and Dr. Mercedes Rodriguez shared the award for their work as leaders in pioneering a more coordinated palliative care effort among physicians, the hospital and community to ensure better end-of-life support and care for patients and their families.

In 2017, Drs. Stephen and Stephanie Milone were recognized with the award. Dr. Stephen Milone, an anesthetist, and Dr. Stephanie Milone, an Emergency physician, have been practicing medicine at Headwaters Health Care Centre for over a decade, and are the incredible force behind a wealth of community service contributions including volunteerism, education, mentorship work, and numerous fundraising initiatives supporting the local community, international medical missions, and the advancement of the medical community.

In 2016, Lynn Sinclair-Smith, coordinator of the Friendship Gardens won the award for her leadership and contributions to the health and well-being of the community. Lynn is the organizing and fundraising force behind the ‘Friendship Gardens’ at the hospital.  Under her strong leadership and guidance, and with the help of local volunteers, Lynn and her team care for over 20 different gardens with well over 450 trees.
For more information, please call Christina at 519.941.2702 ext. 2018.

Download the nomination form here

Photo caption: Dr. Joyce receiving his Dr. David Scott Award in 2020.